A while ago, I opened an account with Tumblr – but never really used it because the concept seemed a little complicated to me. Tumblr, back then, seemed a little convoluted in its intent – it was a blogging platform (well, a micro-blogging platform, the way its marketed). Plus it had elements of Twitter built in – you can search posts by tags and follow them. Didn’t seem terribly useful at the time. It was not cut and dry like logging on and blogging (Like my blogs on Blogger and WordPress are) – instead, logging on opened a “dashboard” where your posts would be mixed with those you follow – much like Twitter again. So I forgot about it.

A few days ago, I decided to go back and check it out – to see if I could make any sense of it. And also, I have this irrational lust for blogging – and my two blogs apparently wasn’t enough.

And this time, I spent some time trying to figure Tumblr out and I was frankly very impressed. Its a great idea – being able to merge blogging with social networking. I talk from personal experience – there are a lot of bloggers right now who write fantastic blogs (on traditional platforms like WordPress, TypePad or Blogger) because they love to write and are passionate about sharing their thoughts – but dont necessarily do the things that need to be done to promote their work. They would rather spend time writing or are just too busy to do what needs to be done to get the satisfaction of increased readership. (Very, very few blogs make money – so fiduciary benefits are marginal at best).

However, Tumblr is different from traditional blog sites in this regard. It allows you to maintain a blog – much like any other platform – but, in addition, you can search by tags and follow and like other bloggers. And the protocol seems to be reciprocity (much like Twitter). Think its brilliant. I think eventually, this will evolve to mini-networks – where bloggers of similar interests will form a network with lower degree of separations. And then like all networks  – there will be loose connections with bloggers who focus on areas that you are peripherally interested in.

Now, I understand the logic of the blog opening on the dashboard view by default – because now you aren’t just logging on to write or maintain your own blog – you are logging on with the same intent as you would have when you log into Facebook or twitter – to read others’ entries.

Brilliant. Check out my new Tumblr blog – click here.

