I just recently updated my 2 Macbooks ( Macbook Pro – Mid 2010; Macbook Air – Early 2011) to Apple’s latest version of OS X – Mountain Lion.

My experience was mixed – both in terms of the installation process and also in terms of what I think about the new OS X Mountain Lion functionality and features (more on that later). So coming back to the installation process itself – I initially installed Mountain Lion on my MacBook Air. Took about 4 hours to download (on my crappy Verizon DSL) and approximately another hour to install. At least on my MacBook Air, the installation process was pretty painless.

Next, it was the turn of the MacBook Pro. Same time to download the software. But, that’s where the issues started. I started to install it – but somehow – during the installation process, something corrupted my main startup disk. What that did is that it didn’t allow to complete the installation of the OS X Mountain Lion. Additionally, when I restarted, my MacBook Pro refused to start up – since my start-up disk was corrupt and it would default to the OS X Mountain Lion install image – which, of course, couldn’t install – since my primary volume was corrupt. Eventually, had to get out the start-up disks that came with my MacBook Pro and use the startup disk to ensure I re-mapped my startup disk to my original volume. It was painful, time consuming and scary – at some point, I thought I had to take my laptop in to the Apple store – which would mean shelling out money – since I was out of the default 90 day warranty period.

Now, installations done – lets talk about OS X Mountain Lion. To me, simply put, it was underwhelming. If you were to look at Apple’s official OS X Mountain Lion page, you will be undoubtedly very impressed. However, my experience wasnt exactly as smooth and seamless as the page purports it shall be. iCloud synching wasn’t half as seamless as it was made out to be. And yes, while there are some nice items – like Facebook and Twitter integration, a new Notification Center, updated Messaging (which I would absolutely never use), an updated Mail application – the overall OS doesn’t seem that radically different. In the Microsoft world, this would probably be a Service Pack and not a new OS with a new name.

Also, unscientifically, it doesn’t seem that my laptops are any faster or more stable. Actually seems like both on my Macbook Pro and Macbook Air, things are a tad more sluggish.

So, is it worth the 20 bucks. I am on the border here. But I will say I am not overtly enthused.

