Image

The Kindle has come a long way from where it began. I remember getting the original Kindle and marveling at the capacity to carry so many books during my travels in a compact little device.

Time passed – and I had a turn-around. I would often find myself buying books, physical books, at airports. The scent of a new book comforted me, took me back to the time growing up in India – where the smell of a well thumbed book from the school library was as much a part of the reading as the actual reading. 

They say everything is a circle. I now commute to work – and to carry a big heavy volume everyday on my shoulder bag not something I want to do willingly. So I went back to my Kindle. This time the second generation one. And that’s when I realized how the platform had transformed.

Kindle now has a host of applications that you can use to send documents you want to read on the web, books and everything else to the device on WiFi or 3G. And it’s an absolute delight. I send all the long articles I discover on Foreign Affairs, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal to my Kindle – to read during the peace of my daily commute to and from work.

Suddenly, the Kindle is much more valuable to me than it ever was. (Other than reading the complete work of PG Wodehouse in one place, which can’t be beat).

In an ecosystem where everyone is screaming about the maximum pixels per inch, the largest screen size, the whatever, I find the Kindle oddly comforting. And ironically, old school. Which is fine with me. And I am sure it will be, for most readers.

Here’s to the Kindle.

